skip navigation

MLK KICKOFF CHALLENGE
January 18 - 20, 2020

MISSION

Now operating under Zero Gravity Volleyball the MLK Kickoff Challenge will have a new look and feel. The MLK Classic (est. 1993) has combined with the ECP Invitational (est. 2009) to provide a better experience with stronger competition on a larger scale.
Our mission is to create a positive environment for female athletes to connect and compete.
There is a place for every team at the MLK Kickoff Challenge!


REGISTRATION

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER
Registration will close January 4, 2020

ENTRY FEE $655 per team
ENTRY FEE $455 per team for 12s (Saturday and Sunday only)
Teams do not need completed roster at time of registration although it is preferred and will increase likelihood of acceptance into the tournament.

ACCEPTANCE Registration is not complete, and team will not be accepted without receipt of payment in full.

REFUND POLICY A full refund will be given provided we receive written communication via email sent to marissa@zgvolleyball.com by December 18th, 2019. No refunds will be given for withdrawn or dropped teams after this date.


HOUSING

Housing will open November 1, 2019

SANCTION

Sanctioned by USAV


DIVISIONS

National Division

Premier Tier: Open level teams, evaluated on last year's rankings

Challenge Tier: Opportunity to play their way up into Premier Tier

American Division

Premier Tier: Mid-level teams

Regional Tier: Club level, teams will stay within regional tier bracket

TEAMS MUST PLAY WITHIN THEIR AGE DIVISION

Premier Tier (Power Pool) Requests: Teams interested in playing the Premier Tier of National Division (Power Pool) should request this during the registration process by emailing marissa@zgvolleyball.com

Requests will be approved based on last year's rankings and results from USA Jr. Girl's Championships


MLK Kickoff Challenge Locations

Three venues will be used to accommodate the tournament. Each age group will be assigned one venue location for the duration of the event.

NOOK - Spooky Nook Sports 
(75 Champ BLVD Manheim, PA 17545)

LCC - Lancaster County Convention Center
(25 S Queen St Lancaster PA 17603)

York Expo - York Expo Center
(334 Carlisle Ave, York PA 17404)

ADMISSIONS

$15/Day

$35/Weekend

Children 10 & under are free


WAVES

As the event approaches, division waves will be announced! 

The Wave schedule is as follows:

Saturday/Sunday

AM Wave: 8:00am - 2:30pm

PM Wave: 2:30pm - 9:00pm

 

Monday

8:00am Bracket Play - Single elimination 

TOURNAMENT FORMAT

7 Match minimum

12s only play 2 days ( Saturday/Sunday)

Matches

(2) 25-point games and (1) 15-point game deciding set if needed.

Tournament Manual
Rules + Format


Teams @ the Nook

18s National + American

17s National + American

16s National

15s National

Teams @ LCC

14s National + American

Teams @ York Expo

16s American

15s American

13s National + American

12s National + American

COLLEGE COACHES

See below for College Coaches list from last years ECP Challenge!

We will post this years running list once November hits!

2019 College Coach List

Coach Name Name of College/University City/Location of College/University NCCA Division Coach Email Address Phone Number Class of 2019 Recruiting Needs Class of 2020 Recruiting Needs Class of 2021 Recruiting Needs Class of 2022 Recruiting Needs Any other information you want to share with players about your program?
Danielle MacKnight Adelphi University Garden City, NY Division 2 dmacknight@adelphi.edu NA Outside and middle
Eli Porr Arcadia University Glenside Division 3 porre@arcadia.edu 7174712464 Setter, Outside, 2 Middles Outside, Middle, Libero Top PT, Study abroad and forensic science in the country
Juliana Rodrigo Bethany College Bethany, WV Division 3 jnascimentorodrigo@bethanywv.edu 347-334-0780 MH, DS, S OH, MH, DS OH, MH, S, DS OH. MH, S, DS
James Pompeo Bloomfield College Bloomfield, NJ Division 2 james_pompeo@bloomfield.edu 908-268-3245 Setter, Middle Blocker, Opposite Outside Hitter, Middle Blocker, Setter, Opposite Libero, Setter We offer athletic and academic scholarships
Dan Kreiger Bloomsburg University Bloomsburg, PA Division 2 dkreiger@bloomu.edu 570-389-4873 Setter, outside hitter. partial scholarship and possible academic money setter, outside hitter, ds. partial scholarship and possible academic money all positions. partial scholarship and possible academic money all positions. partial scholarship and possible academic money
Sarah Gomish Bloomsburg University Bloomsburg, PA Division 2 stgavb@bloomu.edu 814-619-9189 Setter, OH- possible scholarship and academic scholarships possible Setter, OH, DS- possible scholarship and academic scholarships possible All positions- partial scholarship and academic scholarships possible
Dennis Hibbs Bryn Athyn College Bryn Athyn Pa Division 3 Dennis.hibbs@brynathyn.edu 215-272-6653 OH, S, MB, OPP OH, OPP, DS s, Lib, MB
Andrew Lee Bryn Mawr College Bryn Mawr, PA Division 3 nreiley@brynmawr.edu 610-357-3842 OH, MB, RS (No Scholarships) S, OH, MB, RS (No Scholarships) OH, MB, RS (No Scholarships)
Eric Schaefer Cabrini University Radnor, Pa Division 3 es727@cabrini.edu 484-571-2557 Setter, Middle, Opposite Outside, Lib/Ds
Whitney Seidel Cairn University Langhorne, PA Division 3 wseidel@cairn.edu 2155892491 OH, DS, S S, OPP Cairn University is a Christian university
John Titus Caldwell University Caldwell, NJ Division 2 jtitus@caldwell.edu 973-769-8177 OH, MB, S OH, MB, S, L, RS
Anne Bock Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh, PA Division 3 annebock@andrew.cmu.edu 412-268-7531
Shelby Morgan Cedar Crest College Allentown Division 3 sjmorgan@cedarcrest.edu 570-862-2575 RS/MH and DS OH, DS
Joseph Bortak Chatham University Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Division 3 j.bortak@chatham.edu 724-610-8692 Middles, 6-rotation Outsides, Opposites Middles, Setters, Libero/DS Outsides, Opposites/Setters, Libero/DS Middles, Outsides, Opposites Chatham University is a strong Liberal Arts institution with a very welcoming campus environment on the outskirts of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. We are looking for hard-working and dedicated student-athletes to come in and make an immediate impact for our program. If you are hoping to excel on the court while attending a smaller school near a beautiful city, we could be the perfect fit for you. Chatham and the surrounding Pittsburgh community offer plenty of diverse cultural experiences, concerts/musicians, museums, professional sporting events, and many more exciting activities. Come check us out!
Courtney Bernstein College of Mount Saint Vincent Bronx, NY Division 3 Courtney.bernstein@mountsaintvincent.edu 845-372-3352 Middle, setter Oh, middle L, oh, rs, s Oh, mb, rs, l/DS, s We have won our conference and made an appearance at the NCAA D3 tournament twice in 4 years {2015,2018}
Ammuniki Wood DeSales University Center Valley, PA Division 3 aw6172@desales.edu 636-288-7666 6 Rotation Pin Hitter Outside Hitter, Right Side Hitter, Setter, Middle Hitter All Positions
Andrew Pile Dickinson College Carlisle, PA Division 3 pilea@dickinson.edu 6108441648 Setter, Middle, DS All All All
Kevin Rodgers East Stroudsburg University East Stroudsburg, PA Division 2 krodgers11@esu.edu (570) 422-3013 Middle Middle, Outside, Opposite, Libero, DS, Setter Middle, Outside, Opposite, Libero, DS, Setter Middle, Outside, Opposite, Libero, DS, Setter
Mark Birtwistle Eastern University Wayne, PA Division 3 mbirtwis@eastern.edu 610-247-0626 Middles, Outsides Setter, Outsides, Libero
Alex Hinsey Elizabethtown College Elizabethtown, PA Division 3 hinseya@etown.edu 717-361-1472 Setter & Middle Hitter All Positions
Reeshemah Johnson Fayetteville State University Fayetteville, NC Division 2 rpjohnson@uncfsu.edu 910-551-4728 MB, 6-rotation OH, S - scholarships available S, RS, OH - scholarships available DS, MB - scholarships available
John Chang Felician University Rutherford, NJ Division 2 changj@felician.edu 201-658-1851 Middle. I have 1 athletic scholarship left Middle and Rightside(Lefty preferably) Setter, Libero, Outside and DS Middle, Rightside I need solid players. No drama queens!!!
Mary Kate Salko Franklin & Marshall College Lancaster, PA Division 3 mboland@fandm.edu 610-724-4305 Libero, Pin Hitter, Middle, setter All positions High Academic Division III, 9 NCAA Tournament Appearances, 6 Centennial Conference Championships, 23-8 record in 2018
Nicole Regner Frostburg State University Frostburg State Division 2, Division 3 nregner@frostburg.edu 858-956-9200 OH, M - Some scholarships may be possible OH, M, DS S, M M, OH, S We are currently DIV III transitioning to DIV II in the Fall of 2019.
Dan Sempkowski Georgian Court University Lakewood, NJ Division 2 Dsempkowski@georgian.edu 848-468-7314
Leah Bernier Gettysburg College Gettysburg, PA Division 3 lbernier@gettysburg.edu 717-337-6410 none- passed application deadline S, OH, MH, RS, DS S, OH, MH, RS, DS S, OH, MH, RS, DS Gettysburg College is a high academic school in a competitive conference for volleyball. Looking for good teammates who are also focused on receiving a high caliber education.
Bob Trinsey Goldey Beacom College Pike Creek Delaware Division 2 Trinsey@gbc.edu 302-407-1326 Libero / yes Outside Outside / yes Middle / yes
Bob Trinsey Goldey Beacom College Pike Creek Delaware Division 2 Trinsey@gbc.edu 3024071326 Libero / yes Outside Outside / yes Middle / yes
Kaitlin kozak Goucher College Baltimore Division 3 Kaitlin.Kozak@goucher.edu 8143863661
Leo Sayles Grove City College Grove City, PA Division 3 sayleslr@gcc.edu 724 458 2129 Middle Hitter (no athletic scholarship. Academic funding available) Outside Hitter, Setter, Right Side hitter (no athletic scholarships)
Sam Haimann Hamilton College Clinton, New York Division 3 shaimann@hamilton.edu 315-859-4574
Drew Hargrave Haverford College Haverford, PA Division 3 dhargrave@haverford.edu 610-896-4211 None MB, S, OH, L All positions All positions
Jeff Rotondo Holy Family University Philadelphia Division 2 jrotondo@holyfamily.edu 267-424-3962 L/DS, OH or RS L/DS, S, MH, OH or RS
Robin Smith Immaculata University Malvern, PA Division 3 Rsmith22@immaculata.edu 484-319-6566
Latifa Raheem Jefferson University Philadelphia/ East Falls, PA Division 2 Latifa.raheem@jefferson.edu 215-951-5370
Jessica Franko Jessica Franko Penn State University - Berks Campus Division 3 jaf44@psu.edu 610-413-2920 Setter, Libero OH, MH, S
Heather Pavlik Juniata College Huntingdon Division 3 Pavlikh@juniata.edu 814-641-5320
Don Perkins Kean University Union, NJ Division 3 doperkin@kean.edu 518-421-2213 OH S / MH / OH All All
Chris Summa Keystone College La Plume Division 3 christopher.summa@keystone.edu 1570-840-0800 All positions All positions
John Gump Kutztown University Kutztown, PA Division 2 gump@kutztown.edu 484-955-1261 LS, MB, RS (very limited scholarship $) MB (very limited scholarship $) LS, S, MB (scholarship $ available)
Odaly Aponte Manhattan Community College (BMCC) New York Division 3, Other odalyaponte1321@gmail.com 718-924-6962 All positions All positions All positions All positions
Beth Ann Wilson Marymount University Arlington VA Division 3 Ewilson@marymount.edu 571-331-6662 Outside, middle, setter, rightside All All All
Lauren Apetz Misericordia University Dallas, PA Division 3 apetzl@misericordia.edu 407-455-4289 Setter, Libero Libero, Pins, Middles
Eduardo Stawinski Montclair State University Montclair, NJ Division 3 stawinskie@montclair.edu 973-655-7830 OH, S MB, MB, OH S, RS MB, OH, L
Shelley Bauder Moravian College Bethlehem, PA Division 3 bauders@moravian.edu 610-625-7849 OH, MB. Financial aid awards based on need and merit scholarships based on academics OH, L TBD TBD Strong academic school, established, successful volleyball program with a strong culture base looking for student athletes who want to be challenged in the classroom and on the court.
Rob McVicker Muhlenberg College Allentown, PA Division 3 Robmcvicker@muhlenberg.edu 4842643894 S, OH, MH, OPP All All All
Alicia MacGlaughlin Neumann University Aston, PA Division 3 macglaua@neumann.edu 610-761-9697 MH, OH, DS S, OH, MH, L
Robert Cole New Jersey City University Jersey City, NJ Division 3 Rcole1@njcu.edu 201-978-9288 Setter, Middle Setter, Outside, Opposite Libero, Middle All
Rachel Bello New York University NY NY Division 3 rab17@nyu.edu 201-248-9762 complete all positions all positions all positions
Erica Rau Oberlin College Cleveland, OH Division 3 erau@oberlin.edu 9542882972 All positions, no scholarships, high academic All positions, no scholarships, high academic All positions, no scholarships, high academic All positions, no scholarships, high academic
Karrin Moore Pace University Pleasantville, NY Division 2 kmoore@pace.edu 914-773-3987 Walk on athletes of any position Partial athletic scholarships for: middle, pin hitter, setter
Fabiana Scavicchio-Fields Penn State Brandywine media Division 3 fus70@psu.edu 610-764-5121 in need of outside hitters and middle blockers in need of outside hitters and middle blockers in need of defensive specialists, setters in need of outside hitters, defensive specialists, middle blockers
Bridget Bielich Point Park University Pittsburgh, PA NAIA bbielich@pointpark.edu 412-848-1818 SetterMiddle HitterOutside HitterOpposite HitterWe have scholarships available for all positions SetterDSOutside HitterOpposite HitterMiddle HitterWe have scholarships available for all positions Highly competitive NAIA program that is located in beautiful downtown Pittsburgh, PA. We have competed in our conference tournament every year for the past 8+ years. We competed in the NAIA National Tournament 4 times in the past 8 years. As well as having scholarships for all positions.
Deana Jespersen Rowan University Glassboro , NJ Division 3 jespersen@rowan.edu 610-357-0297 setter, middle outside hitter, setter, middle, opposite, libero strong engineering and business school. research institution, great medical programs. Large D3 school of approximately 20,000 students.
David Gurst Rutgers University Camden Camden, NJ Division 3 david.gurst@rutgers.edu 609-364-4191 OH, MH, S, OPP OH, MH. L, S. OPP Academic scholarships available. All positions
Dan Kim Rutgers- Newark Newark, NJ Division 3 dsk122@newark.rutgers.edu 201-407-0554
Colette Kellen Salisbury University Salisbury, MD Division 3 ckellen1@gulls.salisbury.edu 2405520396 MB/OH/Opp All All All
Leanne Piscotty Shippensburg University Shippensburg, PA Division 2 lrpisc@ship.edu 7174771322 Setter partial scholarship, OH partial scholarship MB, OH, Libero (partial scholarships) Setter, OH, RS, MB (partial scholarships) OH, RS, MB (partial scholarships)
Bryce Arnold Shippensburg University Shippensburg, PA Division 2 baarnold@ship.edu 7174771322
Laurie Lokash Slippery Rock University Slippery Rock, PA Division 2 laureen.lokash@sru.edu 724-738-2817 S, OH OH, MB, S, OH, MB, DS, OPP TBD
Erin Street Slippery Rock University Slippery Rock, PA Division 2 erin.street@sru.edu 724-738-4960
Erin Street Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania Slippery Rock, PA Division 2 erin.street@sru.edu 724-738-4960 OH and S OH, MH, S Check out our team!: https://rockathletics.com/index.aspx?path=wvball
Laurie Lokash Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania Slippery Rock, PA Division 2 laureen.lokash@sru.edu 724-738-2817 OH and S OH, MH, S Check out our team!: https://rockathletics.com/index.aspx?path=wvball
Kelly Martin St. Mary's College of Maryland St. Mary's City Division 3 knmartin@smcm.edu 6109527881 Setter, DS Pin hitters, DS
David Trumbo Stevenson University Owings Mills, MD Division 3 dtrumbo@stevenson.edu 1443-845-6864 MB, Setter, OH, RS Setter, MB, OH, RS, Libero We have Beach Volleyball as a Varsity Sport. They can play both!
Colleen Stengel SUNY Cortland Cortland, NY Division 3 colleen.stengel@cortland.edu 2155200829 OH, MB S, OH, MB L, OH, MB S, L, OH, MB
Ashley Coyle SUNY Oneonta Oneonta, NY Division 3 Ashley.Coyle@oneonta.edu 607-436-2145 MB/OPPO/L S/MB/OH/L 4 Year Liberal Arts College. The college rates highly among public colleges nationwide in value, selectivity and service. Popular academic majors include the nationally accredited business, education, music industry, dietetics, human ecology and chemistry programs; traditional majors in the arts, sciences and social sciences; and programs in emerging fields such as computer art, environmental science and mass communications.
Greg Kimmel Susquehanna University Selinsgrove, PA Division 3 kimmelg@susqu.edu 717-421-7585 MH - academic scholarship available
Harleigh Chwastyk Swarthmore College Swarthmore, PA Division 3 hchwast1@swarthmore.edu 610-328-8217
Linda Zhang Swarthmore College Swarthmore, PA Division 3 lzhang1@swarthmore.edu 610-328-8217
Jamie Spangler The University of Scranton Scranton. PA Division 3 James.spangler@scranton.edu 570-267-4055 OH, RS OH, RS, MB
Matt Troy University of Mary Washington Fredericksburg, VA Division 3 Mtroy@umw.edu 443-789-8070 Outside, Middle, Rightside and Libero All All All 3 NCAA Appearences 2015-2018. 2016 Elite 8
Angie Smith University of the Sciences Philadelphia Division 2 angela3smith@gmail.com 609-560-3482 MB, RS MB, RS, OH, lib I will also be rsvp'ing for my assistant coach, Collin Sibilia
Cecily Scavicchio Ursinus College Collegeville, PA Division 3 cscavicchio@ursinus.edu 610-804-2621 All positions, but primarily Middle Blockers and Pin HittersWe offer the Gateway Scholarship of $35,000 to any student athlete that scores a 1220 on SATs or higher OR 26 on ACTs or higher All positions All positions All positions Centennial ConferenceHigh Academic InstitutionLiberal Arts
Lauren London-Law Washington & Jefferson College Washington, PA Division 3 llondonlaw@washjeff.edu 412.477.5088 middles, opposites, liberos all positions all positions all postitions
Aimee Petrides Washington College Chestertown, MD Division 3 apetrides2@washcoll.edu 4437681735 OH, M, RS All positions All positions All positions
Jamie Leventry Washington College Chestertown MD Division 3 JLeventry2@washcoll.edu 443-742-2269
Ben Somera Wesleyan University (CT) Middletown, CT Division 3 bsomera@wesleyan.edu 803–528-5021 Left, Middle, Right, Setter, DS Left, Middle, Right, Setter, DS Left, Middle, Right, Setter, DS http://athletics.wesleyan.eduhttps://www.wesleyan.edu, /sports/wvball/index ; https://www.wesleyan.edu,
Tammy Swearingen Westminster College New Wilmington, PA Division 3 swearitl@westminster.edu 724-946-7320 OH, RS OH, MH, DS S, OH, MH, DS
Donovan Anglin Widener University Chester Division 3 dranglin@wiidener.edu 610-636-0031 Outside & Middle hitter Outside & middle hitter
Kim Habbert Wilmington University New Castle, DE Division 2 kimberly.h.habbert@wilmu.edu 302-383-7373 OH, Setter OH, Setter, MH In-state and out-of-state tuition is the same. NO additional costs. Scholarship money available.
Ross Barlow Wilmington University New Castle, DE Division 2 Ross.g.barlow@wilmu.edu 302-547-0667 6 rotation outside hitter 6 rotation outside hitter, setter, opposite/rightside prefer lefty
Jesus Arturo Gonzales Espinoza York College - CUNY Jamaica, New York Division 3 jgonzalesespinoza901@york.cuny.edu 347-220-4059 ALL ALL ALL ALL We have a brand new volleyball program and need all positions ASAP!